Know What ECR And Non-ECR Mean In Indian Passport!

Passport is the most important document that’s required for International traveling. Passport is basically a documented verification of your identity and nationality, issued by the Government. The passports are issued by taking the holder’s age, educational qualifications and many other factors into consideration. Therefore, it becomes rather important to know about the two categories of Indian passport.

Image Source

There are two categories of Indian passport as per the Indian Emigration Act 1983. Scroll through to know more about the categories-

  1. ECR
  2. Non-ECR
1. ECR

ECR stands for Emigration Clearance Required. This one’s for the people who haven’t given their class 10th exams and have no certificates of the same. Hence, the applicant has to undergo emigration check. It was introduced to provide people job opportunities in other countries like Iran, UAE, Indonesia etc. Moreover, this further ensures protection of a person’s basic human rights in countries where Indians are usually exposed to physical or mental abuse.

Who Can Apply For ECR Passport?

People who don’t have their 10th grade certificates for SSC and children under the 15 years of age get ECR passport by default. And, Indians who are traveling to any foreign country on a visa other than job or employment visa can also apply under the ECR category by opting the ECR option while filling out the Passport online application form.

Countries Which Require Clearance

Here’s a list of 17 countries which need Emigration Clearance from Protector of Emigrants(POE), Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs. The countries are Afghanistan, Bahrain, Iraq, Indonesia, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Jordan, Libya, Lebanon, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Sudan, Syria, Thailand, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Yemen. If you are an ECR passport holder and are traveling to any of the above-mentioned countries, then you gotta clear the emigration to migrate to that country. For any other visa type, you need not undergo the Emigration Clearance. You can just show your valid ECR passport, the tickets and valid visa at the immigration counter and get entry at the airport.

Documents To Be Submitted In The Passport Office

The mandatory documents that you need to submit include valid address proofs, annexures (if required) and any emergency proofs (if required). The above-mentioned documents are super important while applying for ECR passport in order to ensure your adherence to the Indian government policies and guidelines. Educational qualification certificate is not mandatory for getting ECR Passport. However, you can have it as an additional document.

Image Source

Non-ECR stands for Emigration Clearance Not Required (ECNR). This is for the people who are educationally qualified and are simply wanting to travel for any business or travel purposes. The ECNR passport holders can travel to anywhere in the world without having to clear the emigration for that matter. Indian citizens who have passed their 10th grade can get the ECNR and there will be no need to clear emigration at the counter. However, despite clearing your SSLC,  you will fall under the ECR category if you can’t provide the certificates of the same.

Who Can Apply For ECNR?

You can applicable for the ECNR passport (by default) if you can provide all the necessary documents that affirm to you passing the 10th grade. In case the applicant particularly doesn’t need ECNR, they can opt for other options while applying for passport online.

Image Source

Conditions For Applying Under ECNR Category-

  1. Indians who have greater education than just class 10th, and have all the necessary documents.
  2. Individuals of fifty years of age and more.
  3. People who hold a Diploma in Polytechnic from any recognized institute.
  4. People who have spent three years overseas.
  5. People who hold a Diploma in Nursing under the Indian Nursing Council Act-1947.
  6. Gazetted Government officers, their spouses and children.
  7. People who hold visas for permanent immigration/resident visas for the US, the UK, and Australia.
  8. Official and Diplomatic Passport holders.
  9. Income taxpayers (including agricultural income taxpayers), their spouses and children (under 18 years).

Which Countries Accept ECNR passport?

Image Source

Almost all the countries will allow ECNR passport holders without any emigration clearance. Moreover, individuals visiting on all other visa types (including tourist, job, medical, study, business) are allowed at the immigration counters in the airport.

Documents To Be Submitted In The Passport Office

You need to submit all important address proofs with annexures (if required) for applying for ECNR passport. Furthermore, you can even provide any emergency proofs (if required) in the Passport office. Educational qualification certificate is also very crucial here.

How To Differentiate Between The Two Passports?

If confused between the two passports, then all you gotta do is, turn the last page in the Passport to know whether it an ECNR or an ECR passport. If there is nothing mentioned on the last page, then it’s an ECNR passport category by default. This also means that you don’t need to go under any emigration check!

How Do You Convert Your ECR Passport Into ECNR?

In case you want your ECR passport to become an ECNR category passport, then you can apply for the deletion of ECR status. Post which, you will have to go through the entire process of applying for a fresh passport. After the entire procedure is complete, you’ll receive the revised passport.

Image Source

Well, we hope to have provided you with all the necessary information regarding the various passports that are available in India. Let us know if it was informative enough in the comments down below.

Join our 10k+ subscribers and get exclusive travel tips, giveaways and more!

Open chat
Need Help?
Hi 👋
Greetings from Triplou!

How can we help you?